Metro Manila and 9 other Areas Under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) this March

Metro Manila under GCQ

Metro Manila and nine (9) other areas will be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) this March according to Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque.

Metro Manila
Photo credit to the owner

On the other hand, the rest of the country will be under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).

Here are the areas under GCQ:

  • NCR (Metro Manila)
  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Batangas
  • Tacloban City
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur

The GCQ status of the aforementioned areas will take effect this coming March 1 until 31.

Roque also mentioned that President Rodrigo Duterte himself retained the GCQ status for NCR, Baguio City, and Davao City.

Earlier, the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) proposed to place the entire country under the MGCQ starting March 1.

NEDA said that it aimed to balance the response to mitigate the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

But based upon the statement of Senator Christopher “Bong” Go, Duterte said “no vaccine rollout, no MGCQ muna.”

What can you say about this report? Share your thoughts or insights in the comment section below.

For more news and the latest updates, feel free to visit more often as well as our Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Leave a Comment