P800K Fine, Jail Term for Those Engaging in Witchcraft and Sorcery in UAE

Hefty fine awaits those engaging in witchcraft, and sorcery in UAE

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES (UAE) – Anyone caught using magic, or any form of witchcraft with the intent of endangering or harming others opted to pay a fine of P800K.

witchcraft in UAE
Credit to the rightful owner of the photos

Aside from the hefty fine, violators will face heavy prison terms.

This is a repeated reminder and notice from the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Public Prosecution on the work against the country’s Islamic (Sharia) law.

Based on Article 366 of the Federal Decree-Law No.31 of 2021, “whoever commits for exploitation or harm of others an act of illusion, sorcery, or quackery, whether in fact or by deceit, with or without consideration, shall be sentenced to imprisonment and fined a monetary penalty of not less than Dh50,000,”

According to the Khaleej Times report, the said law covers the following:

  • Acting, saying words, or employing illegitimate or unacceptable means or techniques to affect another person’s body, heart, mind, or will, either directly or indirectly, in reality, or in one’s imagination.
  • Deceiving people’s eyes or controlling their senses or hearts in any way to show them something false in order to exploit or influence their thoughts or beliefs.

The following categories are punishable by a prison sentence and/or fine:

  • Anyone who seeks the assistance of a sorcerer with the intent of influencing another person’s body, heart, mind, or will.
  • Bringing or importing books, amulets, materials, or tools for witchcraft into the country.
  • Anyone who promotes magic or sorcery in any way.

Meanwhile, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a Western Asian country (The Middle East).

It is located at the eastern end of the Arabian Peninsula and shares borders with Oman and Saudi Arabia, as well as maritime borders with Qatar and Iran in the Persian Gulf.

The United Arab Emirates is a federation of seven emirates, including Abu Dhabi (the capital), Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm Al Quwain.

What can you say about this article? Share your thoughts or insights in the comment section below.

For more news and the latest updates, feel free to visit Newspapers.ph more often as well as our Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Leave a Comment