How Many Regions In The Philippines?

How many regions in the Philippines?

HOW MANY REGIONS IN THE PHILIPPINES? — In this article, we will find out how many regions are there in the Philippines at present.

How many regions in the Philippines

The Philippines is an archipelagic country in Southeast Asia and has a total land area of 300,000 square kilometers, according to a 2015 data from the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA).

What are regions?

In the Philippines, regions are administrative divisions that primarily serve to coordinate planning and organize national government services across local government units in the country.

Most national government offices provide services through their regional branches and regional offices are usually-but-not-necessarily located in the city that’s designated as the regional center.

How many regions are there in the Philippines?

As of June 30, 2019, the Philippines is divided into three island groups — Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao — and is divided into 17 regions wherein Luzon has eight regions, the Visayas has three regions, and Mindanao has six regions.

Here is the full list of regions in the country:

IIlocos Region
IICagayan Valley
IIICentral Luzon
MIMAROPASouthwestern Tagalog Region
VBicol Region
VIWestern Visayas
VIICentral Visayas
VIIIEastern Visayas
IXZamboanga Peninsula
XNorthern Mindanao
XIDavao Region
NCRNational Capital Region
CARCordillera Administrative Region
BARMMBangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

The Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) gives an update last December 02, 2020, stating that there are no changes in the PSGC during the 3rd quarter of 2020.

As such, the total number of regions, provinces, cities, municipalities, and barangays in the country remained the same with the PSGC updates as of June 30, 2020.

For more news and updates, you may feel free to visit this site more often. You may also visit via our official Facebook page and YouTube channel.

Leave a Comment