Facebook introduced “Vanish Mode” feature for Messenger and Instagram
Facebook officially introduced the disappearing message feature called “Vanish Mode” feature for Messenger and Instagram.
Messenger Product Manager Bridget Pujals and Instagram Product Manager Manik Singh said that the said feature would let users send messages that may disappear automatically.
The said feature came after Facebook introduced a cross-messaging feature for Messenger and Instagram.
With this feature, users can send messages, photos, voice messages, stickers, emojis, and videos that may disappear immediately once they were viewed by other parties and the chat window was closed.
This feature is similar to the secret conversation since it lets you enter an end-to-end encrypted chat that’s saved only on your device. However, the vanish mode is designed to delete anything sent forever once it’s been viewed.
Gizguide reported that the said feature for Messenger and Instagram was slowly being rolled out to users worldwide. You can just wait for an update and it would be there soon in case you don’t have the said feature yet.
Wondering how it works? Here’s a tutorial on how to use the vanish mode feature, according to Facebook:
- To activate “vanish mode” feature, you just need to swipe up in an existing chat thread on your mobile device.
- To deactivate “vanish mode” feature, you need to swipe up in an existing chat thread on your mobile device again and you’re back to your regular chat.
However, Bridget and Manik said in a blog post that only those you’re connected to can use the said feature with you in a chat, adding that you will be notified if someone took a screenshot of your chat while you’re using the said feature.